Thursday, June 25, 2009

Ladybird Larvae

Beetles experience complete metamorphosis, passing through four stages during their life cycle ... egg, larva, pupa and adult. The larval and pupal forms of a beetle look very different than the adult.

Seven-spotted Ladybird (Coccinella septempunctata)

Asian Ladybird or Multicolored Ladybird (Harmonia axyridis)

Anatis sp., not certain if the adult is of the same species as the larva. I think the adult is a Fifteen-spotted Lady Beetle (Anatis labiculata). The adult beetles darken with age making the spots are difficult to see. Although not discernible in the photo the spots are visible if the light hits the insect at an angle.

Pink Spotted Lady Beetle (Coleomegilla maculata)